Cycling | 8 februari 2017

Team LottoNL-Jumbo goes sprinting in Algarve and climbing in Andalucía

After the Volta a Valenciana and the Dubai Tour, team LottoNL-Jumbo will continue with two European stage races. A number of climbers start in the Ruta del Sol on Wednesday, February 15, and on the same day 300 kilometres west in Portugal, the sprint train races the Volta ao Algarve.

Volta ao Algarve

In the Volta ao Algarve, team LottoNL-Jumbo starts with the sprint train around Dylan Groenewegen. Compared with Dubai Tour, there are some changes. Lars Boom and Robert Wagner will join the train along

Primoz Roglic will join the team and race for general classification. The Slovenian placed third last year on the Alto da Fóia, which is the spot of the second stage in 2017. Roglic closed the 2016 edition fifth overall.

Groenewegen will have opportunities to sprint in the first and fourth stages, days that should suit a mass sprint. The third stage time trial covers 18 kilometres around Sagres. It will be an ideal opportunity for Roglic and Boom to show their TT legs.

Volta ao Algarve 15– 19 Februari 2017


Lars Boom

Dylan Groenewegen

Gijs van Hoecke

Tom Leezer

Primož Roglič

Timo Roosen

Robert Wagner

Maarten Wynants

Sports Director:

Frans Maassen


Dries Bos

Ferry Hommerson

Patrick van Doorn


Niels van der Kuur

Dirk Janssen

Bus Driver:  

Kees Hamelink


Bjorn Vanmelkebeke

Vuelta a Andalucía, Ruta Ciclista Del Sol

When Algarve starts, so does the Vuelta a Andalucía Ruta Ciclista Del Sol – or simply the Ruta del Sol. The team’s young riders will debut here in Spain. Antwan Tolhoek and Floris Tier will race in the team’s yellow kit for the first time.

The Ruta del Sol will run over five days, much of it climbing. Despite the number of climbing metres, only the second stage ends uphill. After 178 kilometres the queen stage finishes at the Será la Peña del Águila.

The Belgian time trial specialists Jurgen Van den Broeck and Victor Campenaerts can enjoy themselves in the third stage, a time trial over 12 kilometres between Lucena and Cordoba.

Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol 15-19 februari 2017


Jurgen van den Broeck

Victor Campenaerts

Stef Clement

Martijn Keizer

Bram Tankink

Floris de Tier

Antwan Tolhoek

Sports Directors:

Grischa Niermann & Sierk Jan de Haan


Luc Schiemsky

Gerard Spierings

Anthony Devliegere


Dirk van de Ven

Hans van Vianen

Bus Driver:

Piet de Vos


Bjorn Vanmelkebeke

Meer nieuws

22 maart 2017 in Cycling

GC-riders Team LottoNL-Jumbo climbing into the top 20

Team LottoNL-Jumbo’s GC men took advantage of steep terrain in the third stage of the Volta a Catalunya to climb up in the rankings. George Bennett crossed the line in the first group with a team-leading 11th. Steven Kruijswijk and Robert Gesink finished slightly back in 21st and 22nd, respectively. Spain’s Alejandro Valverde won the stage to the ski area at La Molina on the Spanish side of the Pyrenees.
22 maart 2017 in Cycling

Groenewegen wins bunch sprint for fifth in Dwars door Vlaanderen

Dylan Groenewegen dashed to fifth in Dwars door Vlaanderen on Wednesday in Waregem. Groenewegen led the chase group across the line behind four leading attackers, with Yves Lampaert taking the victory.
21 maart 2017 in Cycling

LottoNL-Jumbo closes Catalunya team time trial 7th

LottoNL-Jumbo placed seventh in the Volta a Catalunya’s team time trial today. Over 41.3 kilometres around the lake of Banyoles, the team clocked 50'43 " -- 1'48’ behind the winning team Movistar.